Thursday, April 14, 2016

New Cabinet formed in Ukraine

April 14, 2016 (UNIAN) The Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine on Thursday appointed Parliament Speaker Volodymyr Groysman to the post of Prime Minister of Ukraine, having dismissed from this post Arseniy Yatsenyuk. Then the Verkhovna Rada adopted a resolution on the formation of the Cabinet of Ministers. According to UNIAN, voted 239 deputies out of 367 MPs registered in the session hall voted for the move. As noted by Rada Speaker Andriy Parubiy, the motion proposes appointment of nominations offered by President Poroshenko (meaning, candidates for the posts of Defense Minister and Foreign Minister), and the candidates promoted by Prime Minister Groysman. The proposed composition of a new Cabinet was personally voiced by PM Groysman at the session hall. “I’d like for it to be the government, which, having your support, would return confidence of the people in the authorities in general,” said Groysman.

The following officials were named:
Stepan Kubiv is to become First Deputy Prime Minister – Minister of Economic Development and Trade (Presidential envoy in parliament, MP);
Deputy Prime MinisterVolodymyr Kistion (first deputy chief of staff in Rada);
Deputy Prime Minister for European and EuroAtlantic IntegrationIvanna Klympush-Tsintsadze (first deputy chief of Rada Committee on Foreign Affairs, MP);
Deputy Prime MinisterPavlo Rozenko (Minister of Social Policy in Yatsenyuk’s government);
Deputy Prime Minister for Humanitarian AffairsVyacheslav Kyrylenko (Minister of Culture in Yatsenyuk’s government);
Deputy Prime Minister - Minister of Regional Development, Construction and HousingGennadiy Zubko (retains his post);
Minister of the Cabinet of MinistersOleksandr Saenko (Rada’s chief of staff);
Finance Minister – Oleksandr Danylyuk (former adviser to Viktor Yanukovych; headed the coordination center on implementation of economic reforms since 2010; in July 2014 appointed representative of Petro Poroshenko to the Cabinet; in September 2015, the president appointed him Deputy Head of Presidential Administration)
Interior MinisterArsen Avakov (retains his post);
Justice MinisterPavlo Petrenko (retains his post);
Defense MinisterStepan Poltorak (retains his post);
Foreign MinisterPavlo Klimkin (retains his post);
Minister of Social PolicyAndriy Reva (Deputy Mayor of Vinnytsia);
Youth and Sports Minister Ihor Zhdanov (retains his post);
Minister of Information PolicyYuriy Stets (retains his post);
Ecology MinisterOstap Semerak (minister of Yatsenyuk’s Cabinet, MP, first deputy of Rada Committee on Euro integration);
Minister of EducationLiliya Hrynevych (Chairman of Rada Committee on science and education, MP);
Minister of Agrarian Policy and FoodTaras Kutoviy (head of Rada’s Committee on Agriculture and Land, Deputy chief of BPP faction);
Infrastructure MinisterVolodymyr Omelyan (Deputy Infrastructure Minister in Yatsenyuk’s government);
Culture MinisterYevhen Nyshchuk (Deputy Minister of Infrastructure in Yatsenyuk’s government);
Minister on temporarily occupied territories and IDPsVadym Chernysh (expert on fighting money laundering and financing terrorism, member of ACAMS – Association of Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialists) since May 2010);
Minister of Energy and Coal IndustryIhor Nasalik (between April 2002 and March 2005 – MP, used to be chairman of subcommittee on oil industry and petroleum products supply of the Rada Committee on fuel and energy complex, nuclear policy and nuclear security).
At the same time, the nomination for the post of Minister of Health has not been voiced.
After this, the ministers vowed allegiance as Groysman voiced it from the rostrum.